Consumer Reports May 1970 Loudspeaker Tests and Rankings

Treker

Back when I was a kid my mom subscribed to Consumer Reports and almost religiously followed their “Best-Buy” and “Check-Rated” recommendations over the years. My mom passed away in 2008, but back a few weeks ago while helping my dad go through some of my mom’s old stuff I came across her collection of old Consumer Reports, dating from about 1966 up through 1981, the year I graduated from High School. I started thumbing through them and noticed that it seemed like just about every other issue contained at least one test of something hifi or audio related. But I got to thinking about it, and it made total sense. If you pick up a Consumer Reports today, virtually every other issue will have a report on HDTVs or smartphones, the items that people are purchasing in great numbers today. It's just that back in the '60's and '70's, the consumer item being purchased in great quantities happened to be hifi audio gear. And today we are reaping the benefits of all those hifi purchases back in the day with the bounty of vast quantities of vintage audio gear available at very reasonable prices. As I sorted through my mom's stack of old Consumer Reports issues, I decided to save all of the audio related issues as I thought that some of this material might be interesting for discussion here on Audio Karma.