1974 Cornwall vs KLF vs KG

Cantilope

My name is Cantilope and I am new to AK. Although I have been a lurker for quite a while. I have actually read every post in the Klipsch Korner. I have learned so much about Klipsch I want to contribute in some way to show my appreciation. Plus I have a question…

Last night I picked up a set of 1974 Cornwalls. This has been added to my ever growing Klipsch collection. In 1995 I bought a set of new KG 4.5 which I still have and have replaced the tweeters with ti. These are currently my rear speakers in a HT setup. For my fronts I run a set of KLF-30s that I got new in 1998. These have had the Crites crossovers installed, ti mids and ti tweeter. I am currently running them with the band pass from Crites. I also have a KLF-C7 that I have the ti installed and upgraded the crossover with Crites as well. In my office I run a KG 1.5 and a SW-10 II (all stock). My HT is powered by a Sunfire Theater Grand II pre then through a Sunfire Cinema Grand which I also purchased new in 2001.

I see a lot of questions concerning what’s what and how it sounds to similar speakers. Here is my very humble opinions on what I own and I have A/B’d everything in my system many times.

First off the KG 1.5s are an excellent book shelf speaker. They are in no way as open or airy as the KG 4.5 and have no bass compared to the larger box and woofer of the KG 4.5. I think they are a perfect marriage to the SW-10 II subwoofer and give me a nice sound in my office. I am hoping to find a nice KG 2.5 to add as a center, and make a smallish 5.1 system for playing Diablo. I would recommend these for a smaller bedroom HT or 2 channel set up in an office.